EPISODE 198 - Jacob's Ladder

Previously on Dallas....

----------Rushed to the hospital after the tragic collision on Braddock Road, both Ben Murray and Karen Myers died from their injuries.

----------As Jacob's condition worsened,  race against time began to find Andrew Murray, to gain his permission to give Ben's heart to Jacob.

----------Allison had the terrible task of telling Casey that his mother had been killed.

----------The Ewing and Gioberti families bonded as they kept vigil at the hospital.

----------Hurt over being rejected by his family, Andrew went on a drunken bender at a time his family needed him most.

----------Desperate to find Andrew, Christopher, Courtney, and Gavin went on television and asked anyone with information on Andrew's whereabouts to contact them.  Watching the broadcast, Jenna recognized Andrew and told Christopher where to find him.

----------Christopher and Gavin brought Andrew to the hospital where, after seeing Jacob, he agreed to donate Ben's heart to his grandson.

----------Christopher and 

Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital....evening....

 Andrew Murray comes through a set of double doors at Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital.  He stares down a long, empty hallway, a blank look on his face.  As he looks down the hallway, his eyes come to rest on one set of double doors about half way down the hall.  He seems inexplicably drawn to those doors.  Andrew begins walking down the hall until he comes to the doors and sees the word CHAPEL above the doors.  He pauses outside the room

and looks into the chapel.  Slowly, he walks in.  After another pause, he makes his way down the isle and takes a seat on the very front pew.  A minute later, Ann walks into the chapel.  She starts down the isle when she sees Andrew sitting on the front pew.  She pauses and watches him for a few seconds, and then walks over to him.  "Hello, Andy,"  she says.

 

He looks up at her.  "Annie?  Wow, I, I'm sorry.  I heard that you were married to Bobby Ewing.  I saw you upstairs earlier, but, I barely recognized you."

 

"Well, there was a lot goin' on and it's been a real long time since we've seen one another.  You mind some company?"

 

"Not at all,"  Andrew says.  "Have a seat."

 

Ann sits down on the pew next to him.  "Andy, I'm so sorry about Ben.  He was a real nice boy."

 

"Thank you.  Yes, he was.  Who'd have ever thought when we were kids in the old neighborhood that we would one day be sitting here in this hospital chapel after my son's death?  And that my daughter would be married to your stepson?"

 

Ann smiles.  "I sure never would have.  Life really does take some strange twists and turns sometimes."

 

Andrew looks at her.  "You're just as beautiful as ever.  You haven't changed much at all."

 

"Well, I wouldn't say that."

 

"Annie, I'm sorry about Mark.  I loved him, ya know."

 

"I know you did,"  Ann says.

 

"Mark and I kinda lost touch after he went to prison the second time.  I didn't even know about his death until later, when I read an old newspaper article about the explosion in California."

 

"I hadn't seen or heard from Mark in years either, until he showed up here in Dallas after Sharon, his wife, and their son Shawn came here about three years ago.  My brother and I drifted very far apart after we grew up."

 

"The three of us sure had some great times together back in the day, didn't we?"

 

Ann smiles.  "Yes, we did.  Well, you and Mark did, anyway.  The two of you were always runnin' off together and didn't want me taggin' along."

 

"That was all Mark.  Didn't want his little sister tagging along after us.  But, then there were times when you could be a little annoying."

 

"Me?  ANNOYING?"  Ann asks.

**********************FLASHBACK....SUMMER, 1975*************************

The Smith home in Dallas....

Mark Smith and his friend, Andy Murray, are in Mark's bedroom looking at a magazine of beautiful women.  "Yeah, look at her,"  Andy says, turning the page.  

 

Mark smiles.  "Oh, man, if she was here right now, what I'd just LOVE to do to her."

 

"Dude, you'd never have a chance in hell with a girl like that."

 

"And just what would you do to her, Mark?"  Ann's voice comes from the doorway of Mark's bedroom, startling both boys.

Mark and Andrew turn and look at her.  "Annie, what are you doin' in here, I told you to stay out of my room,"  Mark says.

 

"So what are you guys talkin' about?"  Ann asks.  "And what are you lookin' at?"

 

"None of your business, SQUIRT," Andy says.  "Now get outta here."

 

 


"You can't tell me what to do.  You don't live here."

 

"No, but I DO live here and this is my room and I want YOU out of it!"  Mark says.  He walks over to his sister and pushes her out of the room.

 

"I'm gonna tell Mama on you.  I'm gonna tell her that you and Andy are in here lookin' at dirty pictures!"

 

"Go ahead, see if I care.  We're old enough!"

 

"Man, your sister is SO annoying,"  Andy says.

 

"Yeah, she is, but she won't bother us again,"  Mark says as he slams the door in an angry Ann's face.....

********************RETURN TO THE PRESENT****************************

Andrew laughs slightly at the long ago memory.  "And if I remember right, you actually DID tell your Mama on us."

 

Ann smiles.  "I suppose I was a bit of a brat when I was 15, wasn't I?"

 

"Just a bit,"  Andrew agrees.  "Oh, Annie, I'd give anything in this world to go back to those days.  They were so simple, and so happy, and we were so young."

 

"I wouldn't,"  Ann says.  "My life was anything but simple and happy back then,"  she says sadly.  

 

"What do you mean?"

 

Ann looks at him and sighs.  "That's a story for another time,"  she says as Bobby walks into the chapel.  

 

"Annie,"  Bobby says.

 

"Oh, Bobby."

 

"Mitch just came out,"  Bobby says, walking over to her and Andrew.  "They're done with, ummm......."  Bobby pauses.

 

"With removing my son's heart?"  Andrew asks.  "You might as well say it.  Not sayin' it won't make it go away."

 

"Yes,"  says Bobby.  "They'll be taking Jacob into surgery in a few minutes, so we'd better get back upstairs if we wanna be there when they take him down.  Sue Ellen, Catlin, Justin, Pamela, Lucas, and Heather are all upstairs now with the rest of the family."

 

"Alright, let's go,"  Ann says as she stands.  "Andy?"

 

"You two go on ahead,"  Andrew says.  "I doubt very much if I'd be welcome up there."

 

"Mr. Murray,"  Bobby says.  "Andrew........that's not true.  You're the reason that Jacob has a chance to live.  And he's your grandson."

 

Ann reaches out her hand to him.  "Come on, Andy.  Come wait with us.  You've earned that right."

 

Andrew takes her by the hand and stands, then leaves the chapel with Bobby and Ann.

Upstairs......a few minutes later....

Bobby, Ann, and Andrew step off the elevator at the Pediatric ICU and walk the short distance down the hall, where Christopher, Courtney, Phyllis, Gavin, Cole, Joseph, Lucas, Heather, Michael, John Ross, Krystina, Lucy, Alex, Sue Ellen, Catlin, Justin, and Pamela are gathered in a large waiting room.  Gavin walks over to his father and gives Andrew a hug.  A few seconds later, Mitch walks into the room.  

 

"They're getting ready to take Jacob down in just a couple of minutes,"  Mitch says.  "I wanna give you all an idea of what to expect.  Now this surgery will take about 6 hours, at the very least, so, there's really no need for all of you to stay here and wait that long.  Jacob will be heavily sedated when he comes out of surgery, and will probably not wake up until sometime late tomorrow.  He'll remain in ICU for the next 2 to 3 days, and then be moved to a room for another 5 to 7 days, depending on his recovery.  After he goes home, he'll have to take it easy for a few weeks, which means no horseplay, no sports, no bike riding, and he should stay home from school for a few weeks.  Hire a private tudor so he can keep up with his classes."

 

"Once this is all over and he's recovered, will he be able to live a normal life like before?"  Joseph asks.

 

"Yes.  The success rate for pediatric heart transplant patients is very high,"  Mitch replies.  "Jacob should return to normal in anywhere from 3 to 6 months and he'll be able to do all the things he did before, and live a normal, healthy life.  We don't expect any problems with the donor heart.  Ben Murray was young and healthy, and he and Jacob had the same blood type, and the two being related by blood, we couldn't ask for a better match.  Does anyone have any questions?"

 

The large group of assembled family members exchange looks among them, none of them voicing any questions or concerns.

 

"Alright, then,"  says Mitch just as Jacob is wheeled out of his hospital room just down the hall by a couple of orderlies, accompanied by a middle aged man in scrubs.  The assembled members of Jacob's family walk into the hall to meet them.  

 

Courtney, Christopher, and Joseph walk over to Jacob.  "Hey, sweetheart,"  Courtney says, leaning down to her son.  

 

"Hey,"  Jacob says in a weak voice.  

 

Courtney gently strokes her son's dark hair.  "You're my brave, handsome boy.  You're gonna be just fine."

 

"You sure are,"  says Christopher.  "And we're all gonna be here waiting when you wake up."

 

Jacob looks at him, smiles, and nods.  He then looks over at Krystina.  She walks over to Jacob's bed and takes his hand.  "You remember what I told you?"  She asks.  "You're gonna go to sleep, and you won't feel a thing.  When you wake up, you're gonna have a new heart and soon you'll start to feel much better."

 

"Thanks for telling me what happened to you when you were little,"  Jacob says.  "Kinda makes me not so scared anymore."

 

Krystina smiles, then leans down and kisses the boy on the head.

 

"Jacob, someone wants to see you,"  Heather says.  

 

Michael walks over to Jacob's bed.  Jacob smiles at him.  "Hey, man,"  Michael says.

 

"Hey.  Glad you're here."

 

"Yeah, me too.  You get well, okay.  And as soon as you're up to it, we're gonna kick Casey Myers's ass."

 

"Michael!"  Lucas scolds his son.

 

Jacob looks at him and laughs slightly.  "You bet."

 

"Okay, we have to go now,"  the middle aged man says.

 

Courtney kisses her son.  "I love you so much, baby."

 

"I love you, too."

 

"We all love you, sport,"  Christopher says, also kissing the boy on the head.  

 

Joseph gives Jacob a high five as the orderlies wheel him away, heading through a door leading into a hall and to 

 the elevators that would take them down to the operating room.  "You're gonna be just fine, buddy,"  the middle age man says to Jacob en route.  Courtney, Christopher, Joseph, and the rest of the family watch as Jacob is taken down to surgery.  Courtney begins to cry, and Christopher puts his arms around his wife in an attempt to comfort her.

 

"Alex, would you mind takin' Michael home?"  Lucas asks his nephew.

 

"Aww, Dad, can't I stay?"  Michael asks.

 

"No.  Jacob is gonna be in surgery for several hours.  It's already late, and I want you home and in bed."

 

"Am I gonna have to go to school tomorrow?"

 

"No, you can stay home from school tomorrow,"  Lucas says.  "But that doesn't mean you can stay up all night.  Take him home?"

 

"Yeah, sure,"  Alex replies.  "But will you call us with updates?"

 

Lucas nods.  "Yeah, we will.  Drive careful, please."

 

"I will,"  Alex says.  "Come on, Michael."

 

Heather walks over to her son.  "You guys be careful, and Michael, you get some sleep tonight, okay?"

 

"Okay, Mom,"  Michael says.  Heather kisses her son, then Michael and Alex walk away, heading down the hall to the elevators.  

 

Lucas puts his arm around Heather.  "Lucas,"  Heather says.  "What if that was Michael they just took down to surgery?  I don't think I could bear that."

 

"Hey, don't even think like that,.  Our son is healthy, thank God."

 

"And we thought Jacob was healthy until just a couple weeks ago."

 

Lucas rubs her shoulder to comfort her.  Meanwhile, down the hall, Alex and Michael get onto the elevator, and the doors close.

 

 

 

"Alex?"  Michael says.

 

 

"Yeah?"  Alex replies with a deep sigh. 

 

"What did Dr. Cooper mean when he said that Ben Murray was the perfect match for Jacob, because he and Jacob had the same blood type?"  Michael asks.

 

Alex looks at his cousin.  "Michael, ummm, it's because they're gonna put Ben's heart inside Jacob."

 

"What?  Alex, that means that Ben is........."

 

 

"Yeah, man.  Ben died last night,"  Alex says.  "So Jacob is getting his heart."

 

"Ben's dead?  Wow.  I can't believe it.  I didn't know him that good, but, he came over and hung out with me and Jacob a few times.  I really liked him."

 

"Yeah, he seemed like a nice dude,"  Alex says as the elevator doors open.  He and Michael step off.  "Look, Michael, I don't know if I was supposed to tell you about that, so, don't say anything to your parents about me telling you."

 

"I won't,"  Michael says.  "But what happened to Ben?  He wasn't that much older than me."

 

"Yeah,"  Alex says sadly.  "In fact, he was a couple years younger than me.  Come on, it's late.  Let's get home."

The operating room....

 

 

 

 

As Jacob lies on the operating table nervously staring up at he ceiling, the surgical team begins prepping him for the long surgery ahead.  A nurse injects some medicine into Jacob's I.V., while the anesthesiologist places an 

oxygen mask over his nose and mouth.  Within a few seconds, Jacob's eyes close and he drifts off into a deep sleep......

Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital....

 Ann is sitting on a sofa in the waiting room when Sue Ellen walks over to her, takes a seat beside her, and hands her a cup of coffee.  "I thought you could use this,"  Sue Ellen says.

 

"And you thought right.  Thank you."

 

"It's going to be a long night."

 

Ann nods in agreement.  "Yes, it is.  You know, you and Catlin don't have to wait here all night."

 

"Nonsense,"  Sue Ellen says.  "We're family.  Christopher is my nephew.  We'll stay here for as long as it takes for Jacob to be out of surgery."

 

Ann smiles, then reaches over and touches her friend's hand.  "I'm glad you're here,"  she says.  "This will give the two of us a chance to catch up.  We haven't had much of a chance to talk lately."

 

"No, we haven't."

 

"So, what's been goin' on with you?"  Ann asks.

 

"Eric has decided to sell Love International,"  replies Sue Ellen.  

 

"Oh?  You seem bothered by that."

 

"Not by his decision to sell the company.  It's WHO he decided to sell it to that bothers me."

 

"I don't understand,"  Ann says.  

 

"Eric is selling his company to Donna Love.  And Donna has come to Catlin to ask his help in running it."

 

"Oh, now I understand.  You think that she's using this situation to try and get close to Catlin?"

 

"I wouldn't put it past her.  The two of them have a long history, and at one time they were lovers."

 

"Yes, but Sue Ellen, that was a LONG time ago."

 

"I know.  But in Donna's mind, it wasn't.  She's a very crafty woman and she'll use any means necessary to try to come between Catlin and myself.  Why esle would she ask HIM to advise her on running Love International?  Donna Love has owned or worked at several businesses of her own over the years."

 

"Well, if she's that smart a business woman, then why would she need Catlin's help?"  Ann asks.

 

"I asked Catlin that very same question, and according to him her excuse was that it's been quite a few years since she's played an active part in the business world, and things have changed.  While that's true, there are any number of people she could've gone to instead of Catlin.  She could've hired a business manager."  Sue Ellen takes a sip of her coffee.

 

"Have you voiced your concerns to Catlin?"  

 

Sue Ellen shakes her head.  "No.  It wouldn't do any good.  He'd just say that I'm overreacting and I have nothing to worry about."

 

"Maybe he's right,"  Ann says.  "Sue Ellen, Catlin loves you very much.  I'm sure you have nothin' to worry about as far as him havin' any kind of attraction to her."

 

Sue Ellen looks at her and smiles slightly.  "I trust my husband implicitly.  But it's Donna Love that I worry about.  I don't trust that woman one bit, and I have the feeling that she's not going to stop until she causes a lot of trouble."

Meanwhile....the operating room....

 Back in the operating room, Jacob's surgery is well under way.  "Yeah, there it is,"  says one of the surgeons working.

"Okay, I need some suction here,"  the surgeon says.  

 

"Blood pressure is 80 over 48,"  a female voice says.

 

"Okay, we're doin' good,"  the surgeon says.  "More suction."

 

While the surgical team is working to extract his damaged heart from his chest, Jacob is in a deep sleep, but in his sleep, Jacob begins to hear voices.  Voices that are calling to him.  Suddenly, Jacob's heart monitor begins to behave erratically.  

 

"Doctor, his blood pressure is dropping,"  the female voice says again.  "75 over 45."  

 

"He's bleeding a lot,"  says Dr. Eubanks, who is assisting the main surgeon.  

 

"Blood pressure is still falling.  72 over 43.  70 over 38."

 

"Suddenly, Jacob's heart monitor flatlines."

 

"Doctor, we're losing him!"  Eubanks calls out.

 

"Alright, come on, kid, don't do this to me,"  the surgeon says.  "You were doin' so good here."

 

As the doctors work to stabilize him again, in his deep slumber, Jacob continues to hear voices.  Suddenly, he feels himself standing upright.  Opening his eyes, Jacob can see that he is in the operating room.  Looking around, he sees a team of surgeons operating on someone.  Confused as to why he is here, Jacob slowly moves closer to the surgeons.  He is shocked when he sees the person on the operating table they are working on.........to his disbelief, it is he himself on the table.  

 

"Doctor, we're losing him!"  A female voice calls out.

 

"Come on, kid, don't do this.  You've come too far to quit on me now!"  Jacob hears Dr. Eubanks's voice say.  

 

Confused, and unsure of what is happening, Jacob turns around, and as he does, he takes a fall, landing on his back.  He closes his eyes instinctively as he hits the floor.  He feels as if he has the wind knocked out of him for a moment.  When he opens his eyes again, Jacob can see that he is no longer in the operating room.  He sits up and looks all

 around.  Then, he hears a woman's voice softly calling to him.  He looks up.  The place he is now in is a strange looking place, its walls, ceiling, and floor all painted a brilliant white.......the whitest white Jacob has ever seen in his 

 life.  He gets to his feet and again hears the woman's voice calling his name........."Jacob"..........several times.  Jacob looks all around him again, but sees no one.  After a brief pause, he follows the woman's voice down the white hallway.  "Jacob,"  the woman's voice calls again, this time from behind him, and sounding closer than it did previously.  Jacob turns around and sees a beautiful woman sitting in the middle of the hallway on a white chair.

Jacob is stunned.  "Hello, Jacob,"  the woman says.

 

"He.....hello,"  he nervously replies.  "Who are you?"

 

The woman smiles at him.  "My name is Maggie."

 

"Where........where am I?"

 

"You're in a very special place,"  Maggie says.  "A very safe place."

 

"How did we get here?" Jacob asks.  "I was having surgery....."

 

"Yes, to get a new heart.  I know."

 

"How did you know that?  Do you know my Mom, Courtney?  Or Christopher?"

 

"No, I don't know them.  But I know who they are.  I also know who you are."

 "You........know who I am?"  Asks a confused Jacob.  "Have I ever met you before?"

 

"No.  But I have been watching over you since the day you were born."

 

"Wait......I don't know you, but you've been watching over me since I was born?"

 

"That's right,"  Maggie says.  "Jacob, I am your great-grandmother."

 

The boy is taken aback by what he has just heard.  "My.........YOU'RE my great-grandmother?  Oh God........I'm dead, aren't I?  Are we in Heaven?"

 

"Close, but not quite.  You see, you aren't exactly dead right now.  You're in a sort of a limbo."

 

"But........YOU'RE dead, right?"  Jacob asks.

 

"Yes.  I passed on from Earth a long time before you were born.  When your father, Joseph, was just a little boy."

 

"So..........if I'm not dead............am I gonna die?  Is that why I'm here?"

 

"Well, Jacob, that kind of depends on you,"  Maggie says, standing from her chair and walking over to him.

 

"I don't understand."

 

Maggie lovingly touches the boy's face.  "Jacob, you seem so very young.  But here, you're neither child nor adult, but spirit.  And what I mean when I said it depends on you..........well, the doctors ran into a  bit of a complication during your surgery.  Not many people get this chance, Jacob.  A chance to begin life anew.  Jacob, it's not your time.  Not yet.  That's why you're here, and why I was sent here.........to convince you to fight.  To convince you of all the people who love you and would be devastated if you didn't go back."

 

"So I have a choice?"  Jacob asks.

 

"Mmm hmm,"  Maggie replies.  "Not many people at all get this opportunity, Jacob.  Once their time on Earth is over, it's over."

 

"This place.......it's so beautiful here.  So peaceful.  Is this what Heaven is like?"

 

Maggie smiles.  "Oh, no.  Heaven is so much more wonderful.  So much more peaceful.  It's a place where there are no tears.  No goodbyes.  No sadness.  No pain."

 

"Are you trying to convince me to go back or to go to Heaven with you?  Because you're making Heaven sound really good."

 

"It's beyond anything you could imagine.  One day your time will come to experience that, but, not now."

 

"But, you just said it was my choice.  So why would I wanna pass Heaven up to go back to a world that's so messed up?"

 

"Let's go for a little walk, and I'll show you,"  Maggie says, holding out her hand.  Jacob takes her hand, and the two begin walking down the hallway.

The waiting room....

Christopher and Courtney are sitting together on a sofa in the waiting room.  "You want anything?"  Christopher asks his wife.  "Some coffee, or a snack or something?"

 

"No," Courtney replies.  "I don't think I could eat anything, even if I wanted to.  I'm so worried about Jacob."

 

"Me, too,"  Christopher says, reaching over and taking her by the hand.  

 

"Christopher, I'm scared.  What if something goes wrong?  I lost so much time with Jacob, and now we have him back. I couldn't bear it if anything happened to him."  Courtney begins to cry.

 "Hey, now, listen to me,"  Christopher says.   "We can't let ourselves go there.  Honey, we have to believe that Jacob is gonna make it through this."

 

Courtney looks at him through her tears.  "It HAS been wonderful since Jacob came into our lives, hasn't it?"

 

"It's been better than wonderful.  I can't imagine our lives without him, and I refuse to imagine our lives without him.  That's why he HAS to get better.  He just has to."

 

As Courtney begins to cry, Christopher puts his arms around her and embraces her.  Standing beside the sofa watching them, unseen by anyone in the Earthly realm, are Jacob and Maggie. 

 

"They look so sad,"  Jacob says.  "Courtney......Mom!  Christopher, I'm here.  I'm okay!"

 

"They can't see or hear us, Jacob,"  Maggie says.  

 

"I hate seeing them so sad.  I hate seeing them cry."

 

"They're very afraid,"  Maggie says.  "Afraid of losing you.  Jacob, your parents love you very much.  And there's someone else who loves you, as well."

 

"Who?"  

 

Suddenly, Jacob finds himself looking at another room, where Joseph Gioberti is putting a dollar into a snack machine.  Joseph presses the button for a bag of chips.  The chips fall from their slot, but get hung up and won't fall.  "Oh, you've gotta be kidding me,"  Joseph says.  He bumps the machine, but fails to loosen the bag of chips enough for them to fall.  "Come on,"  he says, shaking the machine.  Finally, frustrated and angry, Joseph punches the machine, then begins shaking it violently as Cole walks into the room.

 

"Hey, hey,"  Cole says, walking over to his son.  "Maybe you should go to the gym or something instead of taking it out on that machine."

 

"Damn thing stole my dollar,"  Joseph says.  

 

"That dollar's not what's really bothering you."

 

"Of course not,"  replies Joseph.  "I'm scared, Dad.  More scared than I've ever been in my whole life.  You wanna know something?  I never imagined myself being a father.  Never.  I was so reckless in my youth.  So selfish.  I was all about having a good time.  And that kind of mindset continued right up until I returned home to the Tuscany Valley to restore my mother's old house.  I never cared about settling down and being a responsible adult, let alone a parent.  But that all changed when I found out that I had a son.  And then, when I walked into that hospital room and met Jacob face to face........my son.  My SON.  My own flesh and blood.  Dad, the minute I saw that kid......... I think that was the happiest moment of my life.  It honestly felt like my son had just been born.  I know that doesn't make any sense, but........"

 

"Joseph, it makes perfect sense,"  says Cole.  "That's exactly what it's supposed to feel like to be a father."

 

Joseph looks at Cole.  "I've known my son for only a few days, but, right now, I would trade places with him in a second, if I could.  I'd give anything if it were me in there having that surgery instead of him."

 

"I know, son," Cole says, placing his hand on Joseph's shoulder.  As Joseph begins to cry, Cole embraces him.  

 

As the spirit of Maggie Gioberti Channing watches this tender moment between her son and grandson, she smiles.  "Cole and Joseph,"  she says.  "How proud I am of the men they've become."

 

Jacob looks at Maggie with sadness.  

 

"Come,"  Maggie says, extending her hand to the boy.  "We have a couple more people to see."

 

Jacob takes one last look at Joseph and Cole.......his biological father and grandfather.......then grasps Maggie's hand.  In the blink of an eye, Jacob finds himself looking down on yet another room.........a room that looks like a church.  It's the hospital chapel, and Jacob sees a man sitting on the front pew, his head bowed.  The man is Andrew Murray.  "That looks like.........Courtney said he's my grandfather."

 

"That's right,"  says Maggie.  

 

"He looks real sad, too.  Because of me?"

 

"That's part of it.  Let's listen,"  Maggie's spirit tells the boy as Jenna walks into the chapel.  

 

Jenna walks down the isle to where Andrew is sitting on the front pew.  "I thought I might find you here when Bobby told me he found you and Ann here earlier,"  Jenna says.

 

Andrew looks up at her.  "Y'know, the funny thing is, until tonight, I hadn't prayed in years.  Not since I was in my twenties, actually.  But tonight, somehow, that seems to be the only right thing to do."

 

Jenna takes  a seat beside him.  "I know.  Sometimes, praying is the only thing you CAN do when you feel so helpless."

 

"I keep thinking about Ben,"  Andrew says as he starts to cry.  "I should've been there, Jenna.  I should've been at that hospital when my son took his last breath.  My son died and I wasn't even there."

 

Jacob's mouth falls open in shock at what he has just heard.  His eyes are transfixed on Andrew and Jenna.  

 

"Andrew, you couldn't have known,"  Jenna says.  

 

"That's no excuse.  I should have.  I should've told him I loved him.  My God, Jenna, what if my son died thinking that I didn't love him?"

 

"I'm sure he knew."

 

"And what about Gavin?  I should've been there for him, too,"  Andrew says.  "He was there all alone and had to face his brother's death alone."

 

 

"He wasn't alone.  Ray and Donna Krebbs were there with him, from what I've heard."

 

"That's not the same as ME being there.  Jenna, all my life I've been a failure.  I failed at my marriages, and I failed as a father.  I even failed my best friend.  I've never done one single thing in my life that has meant something.  That changed anything for the better."

 

"That is NOT true,"  Jenna says.  "Andrew, it's because of you......because of your selflessness that Jacob has a chance to live.  And your son Ben will have a chance to live on."  

 

Andrew nods.  Jenna puts her arm around him.

 

Jacob turns and looks at Maggie.  "That's Michael's grandmother.  What did she mean when she said that because of him, I have a chance to live?  Why because of him?"

 

"Jacob, that's something you'll find out soon enough.  Now, we have one or two more stops to make before my time with you comes to an end.  Let's go."  Again, Maggie reaches her hand out, and Jacob takes it.  

Southfork....

 

 

 

 

Alex comes out of his bedroom on the third floor at Southfork, the attic, and walks down the short, narrow hallway to Michael's room.  Alex pauses for a moment outside of Michael's bedroom at listens.  He then sees a light under the door.  He looks at his watch.  Almost 2:30 in the morning, and he wonders if Michael is still up at this hour.  Alex opens the door and finds Michael laying on his bed, tossing a small ball into the air and catching it.

 

"Hey,"  Alex says.  "What are you still doin' up at 2:30?"

 

"Not sleepy.  Why are YOU still up?"

 

 

 

Alex sighs.  "Same."

 

"How do you suppose Jacob's surgery is going?"  Michael asks.

 

"I dunno.  It must be goin' okay, because if not, we would've heard something.  I texted Krystina a little while ago, and they hadn't heard anything, so......."

 

Michael lets out a deep sigh.  "Sure wish we could hear somethin'."

 

"You're really worried about him, aren't you?"  Alex asks.

 

 

Michael looks at him.  "Well, yeah.  I mean, Jacob and I, we fight sometimes, and I pick on him a lot.  But he's my cousin, and........ my best friend.  He's the closest thing to a brother I've got."

 

"Hey, now, what about me?"   Alex asks.  

 

"I mean my OWN age.  Somebody I can do stuff with.  Kid stuff.  And he always stuck up for me when that creep Casey Myers bullied me.  And.......if it weren't for that, he might not be in the hospital right now."

 

"What do you mean?"  

 

"Jacob was about to fight Casey when he passed out at school.  He was about to fight him because Casey was picking on ME.  Alex, this is all my fault."

 

Alex walks over and takes a seat on the bed beside his cousin  "Hey. now, wait a minute, no.  Dude, this is NOT your fault.  Jacob had a heart condition that nobody knew about.  He'd been having this shortness of breath for weeks, and he never said anything to anybody.  Michael, this could've happened any time.  Jacob could've collapsed while riding his horse, or riding his bike.  Or even at dinner.  It's not your fault, so stop blaming yourself.  He's gonna be okay, man."

 

"How do YOU know?"  Michael asks.

 

"I just know."

 

Michael sits up on the bed.  "Alex, you don't have to keep acting all tough and everything.  You're as worried as I am.  I can tell."

 

"Okay, yeah, I'm worried.  But we just have to believe that he's gonna be okay.  We have to pray and have faith."

 

"I have been praying."

 

"Good,"  Alex says.  "Okay, look, umm, I seriously don't think either one of us is gonna get any sleep tonight.  So, why don't we just hang out in here?  We can watch some TV, watch a movie, or play a game.  What do you wanna do?"

 

"Watch a movie."

 

Alex nods.  "Okay, that's what we'll do."

 

"Alex?"  Michael says.

 

"Yeah?"

 

"If you tell Jacob that I was this worried about him........I'll kill ya."

 

Alex looks at the boy and laughs.  "Okay," he says.

 

Watching this scene, invisible to Michael and Alex, are Jacob and Maggie.  "I didn't know Michael cared that much,"  Jacob says.  

 

"Why do you say that?"  Maggie asks.

 

"He was kinda mean to me when I came to live at Southfork."

 

"Oh, sweety, maybe that was just his way of welcoming you.  Kids sometimes do things that make absolutely no sense.  But you and Michael have gotten a lot closer these past couple of months, haven't you?"

 

"I guess,"  Jacob says.  "I did stick up for him when Casey Myers bullied him."

 

"I'm sure that Michael appreciates that very much,"  says Maggie.  "So you see, Jacob?  A lot of people REALLY love you and need you in their lives. And we've only seen a few of them.  Let's take a look at some of the others, shall we?"

 

Before Jacob can answer, he suddenly finds himself looking at a group of people sitting around the waiting room at the hospital........a group that includes Bobby, Ann, Sue Ellen, Catlin, Christopher, Courtney, Phyllis, Gavin, Lucas, and Heather.  They are sitting in silence as they wait anxiously for word from Jacob's doctors.  John Ross and Krystina walk into the room.  Krystina walks over to Courtney.  

 

"Hey,"  Krystina says.  "Let's go for a little walk.  Maybe get some coffee?"

 

"Thanks, but, no, I don't wanna leave, in case the doctor comes in."

 

"Sweety, it hasn't been long enough for the surgery to be over yet.  They've still got a while to go.  Come on."

 

"You go on,"  Christopher tells his wife.  If we hear anything I'll text you immediately."

 

"Okay,"  Courtney says.  She gets up from her seat, and reluctantly leaves the waiting room with Krystina.  After their wives are gone, John Ross walks over and takes a seat beside Christopher.  

 

 

 

 

"How ya holdin' up?"  John Ross asks his cousin.

"I'm scared to death," replies Christopher.  "My son is in there fighting for his life.  I know that Jacob is not my son biologically, but that doesn't matter.  I couldn't love that boy any more if he WERE my own flesh and blood."

 

John Ross nods.  "I sure understand that.  That's the way Uncle Bobby's always felt about you."

 

"Look, John Ross, you and I have had our differences over the years,"  Christopher says.  "But it really means a lot to me that you're here right now.  That ALL of you are here.  I don't think Courtney and I could get through this night without our families here."

 

"Well, that's what family's for, man,"  says John Ross.  "Christopher, like you said, the two of us have had a lot of differences over the years, and a lotta fights.  Remember how we use to fight when we were kids?"

 

Christopher smiles at the memory, the first time this entire week he had smiled.  "I sure do.  Jacob and Michael remind me a lot of us when we were their age."

 

"Well, when this is all over, we'll prob'ly go back to fightin' and bein' on opposite sides again.  But there's somethin' I want you to know.  Despite all the fights, and all the schemin' against each other that we've done.........I love you, Christopher."  John Ross pauses a second and  looks at his cousin.  "I always have, even when it sometimes didn't seem like I did."

 

Christopher looks at him.  "I think that's probably the nicest thing you've ever said to me.  And I love you, too, John Ross.  Even though you drive me absolutely insane sometimes.  I guess our relationship is the mirror image of our fathers'.   Just like Uncle J.R. always drove my Dad nuts and got under his skin, they were brothers and underneath it all, they loved each other.  I suppose that's how it is with us, huh?"

 

John Ross looks at him and nods.  "Yeah, but just don't let it get out.  I've got a reputation as a heartless bad ass to protect."

 

Christopher almost laughs at the comment.  "Thank you, John Ross.  For the support, and the laugh.  I really needed both."

 

"Stay strong, cousin.  You want some coffee or somethin'?  Think I'm gonna go grab some.  Wanna come?"

 

"No, thanks, I think I'm gonna stay here and wait for Courtney to get back."

 

John Ross pats him on the shoulder, then stands and walks out of the room.  

 

Looking at the scene, Jacob sighs.  "Christopher's been a real dad to me,"  he says.

 

"Because he loves you,"  Maggie says.

 

"I'm so confused.  Everybody loves me, but they're always fighting because of me.  Christopher and Courtney have argued because of me.  They fought with Chase because of me.  And what about Joseph?  What if he tries to take me away from Christopher and Courtney like Chase did?"

 

Maggie lovingly touches the boy's face.  "Jacob, do you know why they argue over you?  It's because they all love you so very much.  And they all want you to be a part of their lives."

 

"But how?  I love Christopher like he's my real dad, but Joseph is my real dad."

 

"Well, that makes you a very lucky boy,"  says Maggie.  "Because you have two fathers who love you.  Not to mention a mother, grandparents, and aunts and uncles. If only every child were as loved by as many people as you are.  Jacob, you've been given a very special gift.  The gift of a second chance."

 

"But Ben didn't get that second chance,"  Jacob says sadly.  "He's dead, right?"

 

"Yes, honey, I'm afraid so.  But because of him, you can live."

 

Jacob looks at Maggie.  "What do you mean?"

 

"Jacob, I sense that you're still hesitant about going back.  So, I'm going to tell you something that I think you need to know.  The one thing I feel will make you WANT to go back.  You know that the doctors are giving you a new heart, right?"

 

"Yes.  I heard them talking.  They didn't know if they were gonna be able to find me a heart in time, but then they did."

 

Maggie nods.  "That's right.  Jacob, if you don't go back........ if you choose to give up this second chance you've been given, then that means the person whose heart you're getting will have died for nothing.  And I'm sure that you wouldn't want that, would you?"

 

"Who's heart?"  Jacob asks.  "Do you know who's heart I'm getting?"

 

"Yes.  And I think you do, too."

 

Jacob's mouth falls open in shock.  "Ben?  They're giving me Ben's heart?"

 

"Yes,"  Maggie replies.

 

Jacob begins to cry.  "Ben died........and I get to live?  That's not fair."

 

"Oh, my precious Jacob,"  Maggie says.  "There's a purpose for everything.  A reason that things happen as they do.  God places people in our lives for a reason, whether good or bad.  He has a plan for everyone's life, and His plans for your life aren't completed yet.  It's very sad for the people who love Ben that he's gone.  But Ben is just fine.  He's going to be with God.  And you getting his heart means that part of him will live on inside of you.  His life will have meant something, and some good will have come out of a terrible tragedy.  It's all up to you, Jacob.  We're running out of time......"

The operating room....

 

Jacob's heart monitor has flatlined as the surgical races frantically to save the boy's life. 

 

"Come on, Jacob, don't do this,"  Dr. Eubanks says, working with the chief surgeon to revive his patient.  

 

"Still no pulse, doctor,"  a female nurse says.  

 

"Should we call it?"  Another nurse asks.

 

"No, damn it, I'm not giving up!"  The surgeon says.  "Kid, I'm doing my best, but damn it you gotta help me out a little."

 

Watching the scene, Jacob looks on as the doctors work to save his life.  

 

"Jacob, now is the time,"  Maggie says.  "Do you want to go back?  Or do you want to throw away this chance you've been given......this gift?"

 

 

 

"I wanna go back,"  Jacob says.  

 

Maggie smiles.  "Good.  You've made the right decision."

 

"Will I ever see you again?"

 

"Yes.  One day.  And until then, I will ALWAYS be watching over you.  Now.  Go."

 

Jacob looks at her and nods.  Jacob closes his eyes.....

 

Suddenly, Jacob's monitor begins beeping again.  "Doctor, I have a pulse,"  a nurse says.

 

"Blood pressure is rising,"  says another nurse.

 

"Thank God,"  Dr. Eubanks says.  "Nice work, Jacob.  Okay, let's get this new heart in and get this over with.  This kid has a lot of people waiting for him upstairs."

Watching with a smile as Jacob's spirit returns to his body, is the spirit of Maggie, but now she has been joined by another....... also watching is Ben.  Maggie and Ben look at each other, exchange smiles, and then Ben looks down at Jacob one last time.  He again looks at Maggie. She nods at him, as if silently telling Ben that it's okay to go. Ben returns Maggie's nod, then turns and walks straight toward a brilliant white light and after a moment, he disappears into the light.  

 

Maggie looks down at Jacob as the doctors continue to work on him, and then she slowly fades away.

A waiting room upstairs....


Sitting in a waiting room across from Christopher, Courtney, Bobby, and Ann, Joseph is dozing off in a chair.  Seated beside him is his father.  Cole looks over at Joseph.  "Does anybody want any coffee or anything?"  Cole asks the others.

 

"I could sure use another cup,"  Bobby replies.

 

"I'll be back in a couple minutes,"  Cole says.  He gets up from his seat and leaves the waiting room.  As Cole is heading down the hall to a break room to get some coffee, He looks up and, at the end of the hall is a set of double doors.  As Cole looks at the doors, he sees something that leaves him shocked, and doubting his own senses.  Looking through the window in one of the double doors is the face of a woman........a woman who looks exactly like his late mother, Maggie Gioberti Channing.  "Mom?"  He says.   Unsure of who, or what he is seeing, Cole immediately rushes down the hall and goes through the doors, but no one is there.  Cole looks around.  Then, as he looks to his left, he again sees the woman, dressed all in white, standing at the end of a long hallway.  Cole takes off running in her direction. The woman looks at him and smiles, then disappears down another hall before Cole can get to her.  "Wait!"  He calls to the woman.  But by the time he reaches where she had been standing, she is gone.  Cole looks down another hall, but sees no sign of her, as if she has disappeared into thin air.  "No,"  Cole says to himself.  "It couldn't be."  

Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital....daybreak....

 Most of the assembled family members are sleeping somewhat uncomfortably in chairs all around a waiting room at the hospital as night gives way to dawn over the city of Dallas.  Unable to sleep, Sue Ellen stands at the window looking out as daylight comes.  Mitch and Dr. Eubanks walk into the room.  

 

"Everyone,"  Mitch says, loudly enough to wake Christopher and Courtney.  One by one, everyone else, including Bobby, Ann, Lucas, Heather, Lucy, John Ross, Krystina, Catlin, Phyllis, Joseph, and Cole wake up.  

 

"Mitch, how is Jacob?"  Courtney asks, she, Christopher, and Joseph quickly get up and approach the doctors. 

 

"Jacob is out of surgery,"  Mitch replies.

 

"And?  How'd it go?"  Christopher asks, the rest of the family gathering around, anxious to know.

 

"There was a problem early in the surgery,"  says Dr. Eubanks.  "Before we were able to extract Jacob's heart, he went into cardiac arrest again.  It was touch and go there for a while.  I won't lie to you........we actually lost Jacob."

 

"What?  Oh my God!"  Courtney cries.

 

"But he's fine,"  Dr. Eubanks continues.  "Jacob's blood pressure bottomed out and he stopped breathing for almost two minutes, but we quickly connected him to a respirator which breathed for him until we could stabilize his blood pressure.  We were able to complete the transplant without any further problems.  That's why the surgery took longer than expected."

 

"Then......Jacob's gonna be okay?"  Christopher asks.  

 

"It's still too early to tell, Mr. Ewing,"  says Dr. Eubanks.  "But, barring any complications, Jacob should make a full recovery."

 

"How soon can we see him?"  Courtney asks.

 

"Not for a while yet,"  Mitch says.  "He's in recovery now.  In a little while, he'll be moved back to ICU, and then, you'll be able to see him, but only for a minute.  And only Courtney, Christopher, and Joseph will be able to see Jacob, so I suggest the rest of you go home and get some real sleep.  It's been a very long day and night for all of us."

 

"Mitch, Dr. Eubanks,"  Courtney says.  "Thank you."

 

Dr. Eubanks smiles.  "Jacob has a long road ahead of him, Mrs. Ewing.  He'll be sore for quite some time following this operation.  Dr. Cooper has already explained the recovery process, but I can't stress enough how important it is for Jacob to take it easy for the first few weeks after he's released from the hospital.  But with love and patience, Jacob will be fine.  Now the next few days will be critical for him.  Jacob will be at risk for infection, so any visitors will have to wear a mask.  As Dr. Cooper said, the rest of you really should go home and get some rest.  You all must be exhausted.  I'm gonna go and check on Jacob, and I'll let you know when you can see him."

 

"Thank you,"  Joseph says as Dr. Eubanks leaves the room.  

 

"I'll be on call for the rest of the day if Jacob needs me,"  Mitch says.

 

"Thank you, Mitch,"  says Courtney.  

 

Mitch smiles at her.  "You're welcome.  I'll be in my office."  Mitch turns and walks out of the room.  Lucy hurries into the hallway after him.

 

"Mitch, wait,"  she says.

 

He stops in the hallway and turns to Lucy as she walks up to him.  "Yes, Lucy?"

 

"You were great.  And I can't thank you enough."

 

"Lucy, I didn't do anything.  Dr. Eubanks,and Dr. Stephens, our chief heart surgeon, they're the ones who did all the work."

 

"Yes, but you've been so great to stay right here all this time for Christopher and Courtney,"  Lucy says.  "You haven't even left the hospital all weekend.  You've gotta be completely exhausted."

 

"I am,"  Mitch says.  "But it was all worth it."

 

"Go get some sleep.  I just wanted to say thanks."

 

"Alright, Lucy.  I'll talk to you a little later." Mitch smiles at her, then turns and walks away.  Lucy watches him as he heads down the hall.  

 

Back in the waiting room Bobby, Christopher, Ann,Courtney and Phyllis all exchange hugs, all of them relieved that this long night is over.  "Thank God Jacob made it through,"  Bobby says.

 

"Yes.  Thank God,"  Christopher says as Andrew and Jenna walk into the room.

 

"What.......what's going on?"  Andrew asks.  "Is the surgery over?"

 

Courtney walks over to her father.  "Yes, the surgery's over.  Jacob came surgery just fine."

 

"Then, he'll be alright?"  Jenna asks.

 

"Yes,"  Christopher replies.  "And that's thanks to the two of you.  Jenna, if you hadn't been watching when Courtney, Gavin, and I went on TV asking for help in finding Andrew, and if you hadn't recognized him, we wouldn't have been able to get him here in time.  And Andrew, if you hadn't agreed to donate Ben's heart........"

 "Jacob's my grandson, Christopher,"  Andrew says.  "No matter what the rest of you think of me, I wasn't about to let my grandson die.  Not after losing Ben."

 

Courtney approaches her father.  "Thank you.  Thank you for what you did,"  she says as she begins to cry.

 

"Courtney, I failed you so many times,"  Andrew says.  "I wasn't gonna fail you again."  Andrew turns around and finds Gavin standing behind him.  Father and son look at each other for a few seconds, then embrace as Courtney, Phyllis, Christopher, Bobby, Ann, and Jenna look on.

Jacob's room.....later....

Christopher and Courtney walk into Jacob's room in Pediatric Intensive Care more than an hour later. Both are wearing surgical masks, latex gloves, and surgical scrubs in order to reduce any chance of spreading infection to Jacob.  The two stop in the doorway, both stunned by the sight of Jacob in his hospital bed, unconscious and hooked up to a respirator with all sorts of tubes extending from his body.  The beep of the heart monitor and the noise from the respirator are the only sounds in the room.  Courtney fights back tears as she sees her son laying there.  The two slowly walk over to the boy's bedside.  

 

"Oh my God, Christopher,"  she cries.  "My little boy.  He looks so......."

 

"Hey, you heard what Mitch and Dr. Eubanks said.  Jacob is gonna be fine.  He's made it this far, Courtney.  He'll make it the rest of the way."

 

Meanwhile, standing in the hallway at the window, looking into the room, watching Courtney and Christopher with his son, is Joseph.  Tears are falling down his face.  Cole walks up to him.  "Why didn't you go in with them?"  Cole asks.

 

"Thought I'd give them a minute, first,"  Joseph replies.  "After all, Christopher's the one who's been there for Jacob.  I'm a newcomer.  I have to learn how to be a father."

 

"Are you sure that can happen?"  Cole asks.

 

"What do you mean, Dad?"

 

"Are you gonna try and get custody of the boy from Courtney and Christopher?"

 

"Dad, I don't know what I'm gonna do.  All I know is, a few months ago, I found out that I have a son.  I son that I never knew existed.  And because of Courtney's miscarriage, and her and Christopher being separated, I stayed away because I didn't wanna cause them or Jacob anymore pain, especially after what happened with Chase.  But now, after meeting Jacob, and after almost losing him before I even got to know him.........Dad, that's my son in there.  My SON.  And I can't just walk away from that.  I know that Courtney and Christopher want me to sign away my parental rights so Christopher can adopt Jacob, but how can I do that?  How?"

 

"Joseph, that's a decision you're gonna have to make on your own,"  Cole says.  "But I think that all three of you........ you, Courtney, and Christopher........are gonna have think about what's best for Jacob.  Would an ugly custody battle be good for that boy, especially after everything else he's been through?  Sometimes, you have to walk away from someone you love, if it means doing what's best for them.  That's something your grandmother said to me once, a long time ago.  I've been thinking about my mother a lot lately.  Maybe that's why I........"  Cole pauses.

 

"Why you what, Dad?"  Joseph asks.

 

"This is gonna sound crazy.  But earlier, when I went for coffee, I could've sworn I saw her."

 

"Saw who?  Dad, are you telling me you think you saw Grandma?"

 

"I told you it was gonna sound crazy,"  says Cole.  "But yes, I think I did."

 

"Dad, come on.  It was the middle of the night, and you'd been up almost 24 hours straight."

 

"I know.  I was probably seeing things, but......she seemed so real.  And who knows.  Maybe she was.  I've often heard that people you love who've gone on watch over you in spirit.  Maybe your grandmother was here, watching over her great-grandson.  And watching over all of us."

 

Joseph looks at his father and thinks about what he has said.  He then looks through the window into Jacob's room as Courtney and Christopher watch the boy as he sleeps.  Joseph realizes he has some major decisions to make where his son is concerned.  Decisions that will affect not only his life, but Courtney's Christopher's Cole's, even Joseph's brother Chase's.  But especially Jacob's life.

END OF EPISODE 198....

Write a comment

Comments: 29
  • #1

    Parker Bena (Saturday, 09 March 2019 22:34)

    Very touching episode. Kind of "Heaven Can Wait" meets "It's a Wonderful Life".

  • #2

    Parker Bena (Saturday, 09 March 2019 22:37)

    I hope John Ross wasn't just blustering to Christopher. I hope he realizes just how important family REALLY is and gets his ass out of that stupid Colbyco deal.

  • #3

    Heath (Saturday, 09 March 2019 22:58)

    John. I was literally in tears throughout this episode. Was very emotional. Good job. I also hope Joseph does the right thing. But also still be part of jake’s life and that Chris and Cortney will allow that. I also hope that Courtney will let Andrew be a father and start to build the father daughter relationship they never had and the Courtney will be able to forgive her dad for his past

  • #4

    Parker Bena (Saturday, 09 March 2019 23:44)

    I think the Ewings and the Giobertis need to make a pact to band together to destroy Richard.

  • #5

    Parker Bena (Saturday, 09 March 2019 23:45)

    I think Joseph has every right to be part of Jacob's life and so does Christopher. The only thing I DON'T want to see is Joseph coming between Christopher and Courtney.

  • #6

    Trevor Campbell (Sunday, 10 March 2019 00:34)

    wow, that was something, certainly unique different, hopefully now things return to normal

  • #7

    Linda (Sunday, 10 March 2019 06:50)

    Wonderful episode. Very touching and poignant.
    Thank you.

  • #8

    Andrew Hass (Sunday, 10 March 2019 07:19)

    This was a very emotional episode.Plus i'm wondering if Jacob will tell people about seeing Maggie.I also hope Christopher, Courtney and Joseph put Jacob and what's best for him first going forward.However i don't think Joseph will be a threat to Christopher and Courtney at least no in terms of Joseph wanting Courtney.It might be more of a situation where Courtney may know Jacob should have a relationship with Joseph but she may not want to feel like she's betraying Christopher in some way.So maybe Courtney needs to focus on Jacob and what's best for him and let Christopher and Joseph come to an understanding between them on their own.As for Michael, yes it makes sense that he might feel guilty for what happened to Jacob since Jacob collapsed while defending him but Alex made a good point in that Jacob could have collapsed at any time.Also i think Maggie made a good point to Jacob in that yes people do fight over him but it's only because they care about him so much.If they didn't care about him they wouldn't be fighting over him.Back to Jacob, i do wonder if when he returns home, he stays at the cottage at Southfork because probably won't be able to climb the stairs to his room until he's recovered fully.I also loved how John Ross was there for Christopher because despite everything they love each other and will be there for each other no matter what.I'm also wondering if this situation with Jacob makes Christopher step back from Ewing Oil a bit and he focuses on Courtney and Christopher and maybe he even helps run the ranch.

  • #9

    Chris Hawkins (Sunday, 10 March 2019 07:28)

    John,
    A really touching episode, I really liked how your storyline played out! I knew when push came to shove, they would be there for one another! I hope Lucy and Mitch gets back together! Great Writing!
    Chris

  • #10

    Robert Watlington (Sunday, 10 March 2019 09:22)

    John that was an emotional episode of Dallas the way you had the inner outer experience of Jacob's spirit to meet his great grandmother Maggie John Ross had a heart telling Christopher even though they fought like cats and dogs like their fathers he said he loved him family

  • #11

    Cindy Shaft (Sunday, 10 March 2019 09:25)

    A very beautiful story. Great writing. Hopefully Joseph will only take partial custody so he can see his son. This way we can also have you write a few Falcon Crest stories. Thank you John for sharing your gift.

  • #12

    Will (Sunday, 10 March 2019 09:25)

    Excellent episode, John! It reminded me of a conversation between Harry Potter and Dumbledore in that last movie.

    Jacob realizes how special he is and how much he's loved. Nice scene between Christopher and John Ross as well.

    Well done!!

  • #13

    Ada Vincent (Sunday, 10 March 2019 11:18)

    Very touching episode. Thanks for the great writing

  • #14

    Parker Bena (Sunday, 10 March 2019 11:56)

    When the smoke clears, could we be looking at a kinder, gentler, humbler Casey or will he be the same snot nosed little prick?

  • #15

    Parker Bena (Sunday, 10 March 2019 13:08)

    Younger Ann. Was that Kristy McNichol?

  • #16

    Verena (Sunday, 10 March 2019 13:26)

    Well, I certainly did not expect you to make me cry for two episodes in a row, John, but I am wiping away a few tears right now. I loved Maggie's appearance during Jacob's spiritual experience. On Falcon Crest she has always been one of my favourites. I hope Jacob is going to be okay now.

    I thought it was great that the whole family assembled at the hospital for support, also Justin and Pamela. Even though the latter didn't have speaking parts it was important that they were there, especially Pamela because this way she demonstrates that she really wants to become part of the Ewing family and in a way she also represented the Barnes who also feel for Jacob.

    I think Mitch and Lucy are returning to their former romantic relationship, which would be great in my opinion. Now, if only Cliff and Afton got their act together! ;) Now, Donna Love had better keep away from Catlin or I hope, Sue Ellen will punch her lights out.

    I also loved the episode title, very inspired, and the end credits.

    Marvelous chapter, John, thanks!

  • #17

    Parker Bena (Sunday, 10 March 2019 14:08)

    Wait 'til Casey Meyers finds out he's J.R. Ewing's grandson and John Ross' nephew.

  • #18

    Parker Bena (Sunday, 10 March 2019 14:27)

    @Andrew I think Cristopher needs to stay with Ewing Oil. He can do that and focus on Jacob too.

  • #19

    Andrew Hass (Sunday, 10 March 2019 16:38)

    @Parker Bena I'm not saying Christopher has to leave Ewing Oil for good but maybe he just needs to take a short break from the company while Jacob recovers from the heart transplant surgery.

  • #20

    Rose Meisenhelder (Sunday, 10 March 2019 20:07)

    Regarding Casey, maybe he'll follow in Grandpa & Uncle John's footsteps as the next generation's Junkyard Dog.

  • #21

    Marie Kinsey (Monday, 11 March 2019 10:50)

    Very touching episode... loved it...
    Maybe shared custody for Jacob. But it would be hard being they live in different states. You did a great job... even though you went out of your comfort zone. I hope Lucy and Mitch get back together again. Keep up the good work and know you do a fantastic job. Loved it.

  • #22

    Andrew Hass (Monday, 11 March 2019 14:26)

    I think for now both Jacob and Joseph need to get to know each other before there's even talk about Joseph getting shared custody of Jacob or whatever.Then maybe down the line once Jacob is healthy and he and Joseph have bonded maybe he could take a trip to California to stay with Joseph for a few weeks

  • #23

    francis stricker (Tuesday, 19 March 2019 11:37)

    i hope their is a party for bobby in the next one

  • #24

    Yvb (Thursday, 28 March 2019 03:55)

    When is the next episode........literally chewing my nails off.....cant wait...

  • #25

    Brian (Sunday, 31 March 2019 11:47)

    Next episode?

    Good job with this episode

  • #26

    Kristina (Sunday, 07 April 2019 19:21)

    When is the next episode going to be written?

    Love all the episodes!!

  • #27

    Allan (Tuesday, 09 April 2019 17:34)

    Are you okay?

  • #28

    Rose Meisenhelder (Tuesday, 09 April 2019 22:46)

    Are you still alive?

  • #29

    John Walden (Wednesday, 10 April 2019 00:13)

    Hi guys I'm okay. I apologize for the delay. I've been struggling with a little bit of rare writer's block in trying to get the next Dallas and Falcon Crest episodes done. I guess I my mind just needed a break because I've just gotten the inspiration to write back again, so I will have the next episode posted soon. Just consider this to have been a mid-season break, like some of the TV shows do now.